Home
Portfolio
Market
Market2
Leaders
Pick'em
Pick 10
Messenger
Oasis
Vote

Go Back   Jockstocks Forums > Non Sports Related > Techie Corner
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Techie Corner Ask/Answer computer questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 09 Mar 2008, 09:53 AM
ldzppln ldzppln is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Potomac Falls, Virginia
Posts: 1,418
Default Internet Speed

In case you're wondering what you're really getting from your ISP, there are plenty of sites available to test your service.

I've run tests from several sites and the results are pretty consistent - speedtest.net has an array of servers from which to choose - the closer the server to your physical location the better the result.

When I choose the server in Frederick, MD (50 miles) I get the following result:



When I choose the server in Calgary (1,950 miles), however, I get a much slower result:



I tried the Tokyo, Japan server (6,750 miles) and got:

  #2  
Unread 09 Mar 2008, 12:12 PM
StockTrader StockTrader is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via MSN to StockTrader Send a message via Yahoo to StockTrader
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ldzppln View Post
In case you're wondering what you're really getting from your ISP, there are plenty of sites available to test your service.

I've run tests from several sites and the results are pretty consistent - speedtest.net has an array of servers from which to choose - the closer the server to your physical location the better the result.
I thought you said you had Fiber?







And, just some food for thought. Being a college within K-State, my Internet connection actually runs from Salina, to Manhattan, and then to the outside world. Whereas most connections will take you to the fastest router, and then to the next fast, etc. It isn't really a problem, unless I am connecting west of Salina, because then my Internet runs east to Manhattan, and then back west.

Nick
  #3  
Unread 09 Mar 2008, 12:22 PM
ldzppln ldzppln is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Potomac Falls, Virginia
Posts: 1,418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StockTrader View Post
I thought you said you had Fiber?
I do, and I pay for 5/2 service, which is what I'm getting. Could pay more for higher tiers of service, up to 50/20, but I'm fine with what I get now. When I had Comcast, I paid for 5/2 and usually got about 3.5/1.5

I find it a bit interesting that my download speed is impacted by server distance, but upload speed is not.
  #4  
Unread 09 Mar 2008, 01:20 PM
StockTrader StockTrader is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via MSN to StockTrader Send a message via Yahoo to StockTrader
Default

Ah, gotcha.

And yes, that upload thing is very interesting indeed.

Nick
  #5  
Unread 09 Mar 2008, 03:05 PM
ldzppln ldzppln is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Potomac Falls, Virginia
Posts: 1,418
Default

From my parent's house - not far from where I live. They've got Verizon FiOS as well, 5/2 service. Like the tests from my home, server distance impacts download speed, but has little effect upload speed.


Frederick, MD:


Prince Rupert, Canada:


Jakarta, Indonesia:
  #6  
Unread 09 Mar 2008, 06:28 PM
SiteWolf SiteWolf is offline
JSAdmin
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Just south of sane
Posts: 15,603
Send a message via Skype™ to SiteWolf
Default

wow...didn't realize my cable had such a difference

I can crack 8000 d/l....but can't crack 500 u/l
  #7  
Unread 18 Aug 2012, 02:42 PM
SiteWolf SiteWolf is offline
JSAdmin
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Just south of sane
Posts: 15,603
Send a message via Skype™ to SiteWolf
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ldzppln View Post
In case you're wondering what you're really getting from your ISP, there are plenty of sites available to test your service.





It's funny how times change- led's post being from 2008, below is what I just got...on wireless a floor away from my modem



...the exciting thing for me is...until getting a new modem and upping my service from 15 to 30m...on 15 I was too often at the speeds led posted 4 years ago
__________________
Find us on for updates, including site issues.

The fact that there is a highway to hell but only a stairway to heaven says a lot about anticipated traffic numbers.
When you're dead, you don't know you're dead. It's only difficult for others. It's the same way when you're stupid.
So, when is this "old enough to know better" thing supposed to kick in?
  #8  
Unread 18 Aug 2012, 03:07 PM
SayOw SayOw is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Barren Wasteland
Posts: 1,218
Send a message via ICQ to SayOw Send a message via MSN to SayOw Send a message via Yahoo to SayOw
Default

With Qwest being bought out by Century Link, I've seen new fiber being laid in my neighborhood and Century Link has sent me promotional materials stating that 50 meg dsl service will soon be available in my area... depending on the price, I am most certainly upgrading my service...I have so many wifi devices now, 10 meg service just isn't nearly enough bandwidth for my household...
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2007 - 2011 Jockstocks