Home
Portfolio
Market
Market2
Leaders
Pick'em
Pick 10
Messenger
Oasis
Vote

Go Back   Jockstocks Forums > Non Sports Related > Techie Corner
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Techie Corner Ask/Answer computer questions

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 09 Mar 2008, 09:53 AM
ldzppln ldzppln is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Potomac Falls, Virginia
Posts: 1,418
Default Internet Speed

In case you're wondering what you're really getting from your ISP, there are plenty of sites available to test your service.

I've run tests from several sites and the results are pretty consistent - speedtest.net has an array of servers from which to choose - the closer the server to your physical location the better the result.

When I choose the server in Frederick, MD (50 miles) I get the following result:



When I choose the server in Calgary (1,950 miles), however, I get a much slower result:



I tried the Tokyo, Japan server (6,750 miles) and got:

  #2  
Unread 09 Mar 2008, 12:12 PM
StockTrader StockTrader is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via MSN to StockTrader Send a message via Yahoo to StockTrader
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ldzppln View Post
In case you're wondering what you're really getting from your ISP, there are plenty of sites available to test your service.

I've run tests from several sites and the results are pretty consistent - speedtest.net has an array of servers from which to choose - the closer the server to your physical location the better the result.
I thought you said you had Fiber?







And, just some food for thought. Being a college within K-State, my Internet connection actually runs from Salina, to Manhattan, and then to the outside world. Whereas most connections will take you to the fastest router, and then to the next fast, etc. It isn't really a problem, unless I am connecting west of Salina, because then my Internet runs east to Manhattan, and then back west.

Nick
  #3  
Unread 09 Mar 2008, 12:22 PM
ldzppln ldzppln is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Potomac Falls, Virginia
Posts: 1,418
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StockTrader View Post
I thought you said you had Fiber?
I do, and I pay for 5/2 service, which is what I'm getting. Could pay more for higher tiers of service, up to 50/20, but I'm fine with what I get now. When I had Comcast, I paid for 5/2 and usually got about 3.5/1.5

I find it a bit interesting that my download speed is impacted by server distance, but upload speed is not.
  #4  
Unread 09 Mar 2008, 01:20 PM
StockTrader StockTrader is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via MSN to StockTrader Send a message via Yahoo to StockTrader
Default

Ah, gotcha.

And yes, that upload thing is very interesting indeed.

Nick
  #5  
Unread 09 Mar 2008, 03:05 PM
ldzppln ldzppln is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Potomac Falls, Virginia
Posts: 1,418
Default

From my parent's house - not far from where I live. They've got Verizon FiOS as well, 5/2 service. Like the tests from my home, server distance impacts download speed, but has little effect upload speed.


Frederick, MD:


Prince Rupert, Canada:


Jakarta, Indonesia:
  #6  
Unread 09 Mar 2008, 06:28 PM
SiteWolf SiteWolf is offline
JSAdmin
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Just south of sane
Posts: 15,461
Send a message via Skype™ to SiteWolf
Default

wow...didn't realize my cable had such a difference

I can crack 8000 d/l....but can't crack 500 u/l
  #7  
Unread 09 Mar 2008, 09:12 PM
StockTrader StockTrader is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via MSN to StockTrader Send a message via Yahoo to StockTrader
Default

Orren:

Most cable companies will not offer over 1Mb/s upload. You should look into the restrictions.

Nick
  #8  
Unread 02 Jul 2008, 03:42 PM
StockTrader StockTrader is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via MSN to StockTrader Send a message via Yahoo to StockTrader
Default

From my summer place in Lawrence:







Nick
  #9  
Unread 02 Jul 2008, 08:24 PM
yon Beast yon Beast is offline
Keep Calm Chive On
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saskatchatoon
Posts: 3,659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StockTrader View Post
From my summer place in Lawrence...
autumn in the Hamptons?

Winter in spanish villa?

...Tuscany....in the spring!!!

__________________
bestest site...
Exaggeration is a billion times worse than understatement.
  #10  
Unread 03 Jul 2008, 10:30 AM
StockTrader StockTrader is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via MSN to StockTrader Send a message via Yahoo to StockTrader
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by da freak View Post
autumn in the Hamptons?

Winter in spanish villa?

...Tuscany....in the spring!!!

lol

I wrote it like that to make me sound cool, did it work?

Nick
  #11  
Unread 03 Jul 2008, 10:45 PM
yon Beast yon Beast is offline
Keep Calm Chive On
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saskatchatoon
Posts: 3,659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StockTrader View Post
lol

I wrote it like that to make me sound cool, did it work?

Nick
yup...completely fooled me
__________________
bestest site...
Exaggeration is a billion times worse than understatement.
  #12  
Unread 28 Aug 2008, 06:34 PM
ldzppln ldzppln is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Potomac Falls, Virginia
Posts: 1,418
Default

Upgraded my FiOS account from 5/2 to 10/2 this morning. Here's what I get now.



Ran another one a couple hours later, a wee bit faster.


  #13  
Unread 28 Aug 2008, 10:28 PM
StockTrader StockTrader is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,007
Send a message via MSN to StockTrader Send a message via Yahoo to StockTrader
Default





This is cable, at around $44.95 a month.

How much are you paying for 10/2?

Nick
  #14  
Unread 29 Aug 2008, 12:49 AM
ldzppln ldzppln is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Potomac Falls, Virginia
Posts: 1,418
Default

I have a bundled package - Phone, TV & Internet through Verizon (FiOS). $99 per month, plus equipment ($5 per receiver, $15 for HD multi-media DVR). The upgrade from 5/2 to 10/2 was free, but I did have to call and ask for it. My guess is competing cable companies are offering 10/2 in some/most areas, so Verizon felt it necessary to bump up their standard service.

Before FiOS was available in my 'hood, I was paying $46/month for 5/2 from Comcast. But, as a I mentioned in an earlier post on this thread, I usually tested at 3.5/1.5.
  #15  
Unread 01 Sep 2008, 12:10 PM
ldzppln ldzppln is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Potomac Falls, Virginia
Posts: 1,418
Default

I got a slightly faster result using my laptop (new this year). Figure my ~5 year old desktop PC might have slowed things down a bit.

From my home to:

Washington D.C. (less than 50 miles)


Atlanta, GA (550 miles)


Twin Cities, MN (900 miles)


El Paso, TX (1,700 miles)


Paris, France (3,850 miles)



LOL South Africa (8,100 miles)
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2007 - 2011 Jockstocks