Home
Portfolio
Market
Market2
Leaders
Pick'em
Messenger
Oasis

Go Back   Jockstocks Forums > Non Sports Related > Techie Corner
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Techie Corner Ask/Answer computer questions

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #16  
Unread 14 Feb 2012, 11:28 AM
rich76 rich76 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southport, N.C.
Posts: 20,422
Default

I ran the scan...and have decided to double the RAM from 4GB to 8GB. Something I've been wanting to do for some time. Crucial actually had, IMO, a very fair price....59.98 for 2 4GB kits to install together. Once I get that done...I am leaning towards sayow's suggestion....

thank you both.....appreciate it.
__________________
Having a dog named shark at the beach was a bad idea
Why is there a highway to hell but only a stairway to heaven
It's wierd being the same age as old people
My mom didn't raise no dummy, if she did it would be my sister
I told my wife to embrace her faults......she hugged me
I took a DNA test- God is my father
When I ask if you want me to be honest, please say no
  #17  
Unread 14 Feb 2012, 12:45 PM
StockTrader StockTrader is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to StockTrader Send a message via Yahoo to StockTrader
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich76 View Post
I ran the scan...and have decided to double the RAM from 4GB to 8GB. Something I've been wanting to do for some time. Crucial actually had, IMO, a very fair price....59.98 for 2 4GB kits to install together. Once I get that done...I am leaning towards sayow's suggestion....

thank you both.....appreciate it.
Awesome! Let us know if it doesn't help -- I have a inkling that it will!

Nick
  #18  
Unread 16 Feb 2012, 04:51 PM
rich76 rich76 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southport, N.C.
Posts: 20,422
Default

just got my 8GB of ram and I have a question.....or two. Should I do a full back-up before I change boards? Is there anything else I should be aware of besides static (I wear gloves)
__________________
Having a dog named shark at the beach was a bad idea
Why is there a highway to hell but only a stairway to heaven
It's wierd being the same age as old people
My mom didn't raise no dummy, if she did it would be my sister
I told my wife to embrace her faults......she hugged me
I took a DNA test- God is my father
When I ask if you want me to be honest, please say no
  #19  
Unread 16 Feb 2012, 04:59 PM
SayOw SayOw is offline
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The Barren Wasteland
Posts: 1,218
Send a message via ICQ to SayOw Send a message via MSN to SayOw Send a message via Yahoo to SayOw
Default

In theory, you shouldn't have to back anything up for a RAM install/upgrade....but having a current backup before any upgrade or system alteration is never a bad idea, imo.

Worst case scenario, if your RAM isn't correct or doesn't work properly, you should be able to put your old RAM back in and be at the exact same point you were prior to upgrading.

I always make sure my machine is completely unplugged when doing any work on them and if you take precautions for static, you should be fine.
  #20  
Unread 16 Feb 2012, 05:12 PM
rich76 rich76 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southport, N.C.
Posts: 20,422
Default

__________________
Having a dog named shark at the beach was a bad idea
Why is there a highway to hell but only a stairway to heaven
It's wierd being the same age as old people
My mom didn't raise no dummy, if she did it would be my sister
I told my wife to embrace her faults......she hugged me
I took a DNA test- God is my father
When I ask if you want me to be honest, please say no
  #21  
Unread 17 Feb 2012, 11:19 AM
StockTrader StockTrader is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to StockTrader Send a message via Yahoo to StockTrader
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich76 View Post
As an aside, you don't need to wear gloves Just touch something that is grounded before you touch the RAM or Motherboard

BTW, how'd it go?

Nick
  #22  
Unread 17 Feb 2012, 12:57 PM
rich76 rich76 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southport, N.C.
Posts: 20,422
Default

The puter B/U took longer than the cleaning/replacing the RAM. It only took around 10 min. I have 4 IE browsers open and so far so good. This should allow me to have the browsers I need open and also able to do the photo/video work I'll be doing for some time to come. (putting all slides/movies/photos onto discs and flash drives for my children).
Thanks both for your advice...../knocks on wood

(btw...I use the gloves because I'm moving around on a carpet while doing this).
__________________
Having a dog named shark at the beach was a bad idea
Why is there a highway to hell but only a stairway to heaven
It's wierd being the same age as old people
My mom didn't raise no dummy, if she did it would be my sister
I told my wife to embrace her faults......she hugged me
I took a DNA test- God is my father
When I ask if you want me to be honest, please say no

  #23  
Unread 17 Feb 2012, 03:50 PM
StockTrader StockTrader is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 3,018
Send a message via MSN to StockTrader Send a message via Yahoo to StockTrader
Default



Glad the upgrade helped!

Nick
  #24  
Unread 18 Feb 2012, 10:41 AM
rich76 rich76 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southport, N.C.
Posts: 20,422
Default

bleah....original problem surfaced this morning....something else is up. I'll stick to Chrome instead of IE I guess...never a problem there.
__________________
Having a dog named shark at the beach was a bad idea
Why is there a highway to hell but only a stairway to heaven
It's wierd being the same age as old people
My mom didn't raise no dummy, if she did it would be my sister
I told my wife to embrace her faults......she hugged me
I took a DNA test- God is my father
When I ask if you want me to be honest, please say no
  #25  
Unread 19 Feb 2012, 04:48 PM
yon Beast yon Beast is offline
Keep Calm Chive On
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saskatchatoon
Posts: 3,963
Default

__________________
bestest site...
"He who joyfully marches to music rank and file, has already earned my contempt. He has been given a large brain by mistake, since for him the spinal cord would surely suffice. This disgrace to civilization should be done away with at once. Heroism at command, how violently I hate all this, how despicable and ignoble war is; I would rather be torn to shreds than be a part of so base an action. It is my conviction that killing under the cloak of war is nothing but an act of murder." (Albert Einstein)
  #26  
Unread 19 Feb 2012, 04:52 PM
yon Beast yon Beast is offline
Keep Calm Chive On
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saskatchatoon
Posts: 3,963
Default

Go Back Jockstocks Forums > Non Sports Related > Techie Corner
internet explorerer

explorerer: one who explores explorer??
__________________
bestest site...
"He who joyfully marches to music rank and file, has already earned my contempt. He has been given a large brain by mistake, since for him the spinal cord would surely suffice. This disgrace to civilization should be done away with at once. Heroism at command, how violently I hate all this, how despicable and ignoble war is; I would rather be torn to shreds than be a part of so base an action. It is my conviction that killing under the cloak of war is nothing but an act of murder." (Albert Einstein)
Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
© 2007 - 2011 Jockstocks